St. Lawrence Catholic Church
and Newman Center
1203 5th Street, SE
Minneapolis, MN 55414
(612) 331-7941
info@umncatholic.org
Map and Directions

Mass Schedule
Sunday Mass:
8 am, 10 am, 8 pm
Weekday Mass:
Tue-Fri 12:15 pm; Sat 9 am

facebook

 

Calendar

St Lawrence Catholic Church & Newman Center Events

 

Service Opportunities throughout the summer

Cooks for Kids at the Ronald McDonald House (1st Sunday of the month)
Loaves and Fishes Suppers (4th Tuesday, every other month)


Weekly Events

Sunday

Choir Rehearsal - one hour before the 10 a.m. or 8 p.m. Masses

Monday

Young Adult Volleyball at 7:30 pm
Women's Book Club at 7pm (monthly)


Tuesday

Encountering the Lord in Silence - 6:30pm

Parish Pastoral Council - 6:30 pm (2nd Tuesday)

Parish Finance Council - 6:30 pm (3rd Tuesday)

 

Tuesday-Friday

Adoration - 12:40-5:30 pm

 

Wednesday

Candlelight Mass at 8 pm (during the University school year)

Friday

Anointing of the Sick - 1st Friday of the Month at 12:10pm Mass
Card Night (7-9pm on every odd week)


 


 

PAST EVENTS OF THE YEAR

Summer 2013

International Potluck - Fri, May 31 (6pm)

Fortnight for Freedom Postcard Campaign - Sun, 6/30

Card Club Potluck with Fr. Don - Tue, Jul 2 (6pm)

Feast of St. Lawrence - Sat, Aug 10

Paulist-Parish Celebration - Sat, Aug 10
      (to celebrate 98 years of Paulist ministry to St. Lawrence)

 

Spring 2013

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Feb 3 (5:30pm)

Rediscover Catholicism Kickoff - Sun, Feb 3

Immigration Sunday MN - Sun, Jan 6

Children's Faith Formation Classes Resume - Sun, Jan 13

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity - Jan 18-25

Peer Ministers Retreat - Sat, Jan 26

Paulist Appeal - Sun, Jan 27

RCIA Retreat - Sat, Feb 2

RCIA Rite of Welcome at the 10am Mass - Sun, Feb 3

Year of Faith Kickoff at the Sunday Masses - Sun, Feb 3

    Rediscover Speaker Series: meaning - Mon, Feb 4
                                              (at St. John the Baptist)

Mardi Gras Swing Dance - Fri, Feb 8
       (6pm lessons / 6:30pm dinner / 7pm - dancing)

Catholic Service Appeal - Commitment Weekend - Sun, Feb 10

Fr. Dave Farnum, CSP preaching - Sun, Feb 10

Vocation Discernment Evening - Tue, Feb 12 (7pm)
    (with Fr. Dave Farnum, CSP & Sr. Jill Underdahl, CSJ)

Ash Wednesday - Wed, Feb 13
   (at St Lawrence: 12:10pm, 5:30pm, 7:30pm)
   (on campus: 12:15pm, 4pm, 5pm, 8pm)

Pancake Breakfast - Sun, Feb 17

Busy Person's Retreat - 1st three weeks of Lent starting Feb 17

  Rediscover Speaker Series: belonging - Mon, Feb 18
                                               (at St. John the Baptist)

Candlelight Mass & Dessert Social - Tue, Feb 19 (8pm)

Kids Against Hunger - Sat, Feb 23 (9:30am)

Loaves & Fishes - Tue, Feb 26

Candlelight Mass - Tue, Feb 26 (8pm)

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Mar 3 (5:30pm)

  Rediscover: strength - Mon, Mar 4 (at St. John the Baptist)

  Rediscover: On Campus (for students) - Mon, Mar 4
                                                         (at Univ of St. Thomas)

CoffeeHouse (C) - Fri, Mar 8 (7pm)

Mass / All-Night Prayer Vigil - Fri, Mar 8 (9:30pm)

Discernment Workshop-Retreat - Fr. Paul Coelho, SJ -Sat, Mar 9 (9:30am)

Rite of Calling to Continuing Conversion (RCIA) - 7pm Mass - Sun, Mar 11

Lenten Reconcliation Service - Mon, Mar 11 (7pm)

Spring Break Mission Trip - Mar 16-24

  Rediscover: the Way - Mon, Mar 18 (at St John the Baptist) - 7pm

Parish Spring Clean Up Day - Fri, Mar 22 (4:30pm)

Scrabble Tournament - Sat, Mar 23 (9am-6pm)

Kids Against Hunger - Sat, Mar 23 (9:30am)

Palm Sunday - Sun, Mar 24

Mass at the Law School - Tue, Mar 26 (12:10pm)

Sacrament of Reconciliation - Tue, Mar 26 (4-5pm, 7-8pm)

Morning Prayer - Thu, Mar 28 (9am)

Holy Thursday Mass - Thu, Mar 28 (7:30PM)

Good Friday Morning Prayer - Fri, Mar 29 (9am)

Stations of the Cross - Fri, Mar 29 (12:10pm)

Good Friday Service - Fri, Mar 29 (7:30PM)

Holy Saturday Morning Prayer - Sat, Mar 30 (9am)

Easter Vigil - Sat, Mar 30 (8:30PM - tentative)

Easter Sunday Masses - Sun, Mar 31 (8AM & 10AM)

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Apr 7 (5:30pm)

Youth Farm - Fri, Apr 12 (1:15-5pm) <-- CANCELED

(c) CoffeeHouse - Fri, Apr 19 (7pm)

Pancake Breakfast (after 8am and 10am Masses) - Sun, Apr 14

Adult Confirmation - 7pm Mass - Sun, April 14

1st Reconciliation - Sat, Apr 20 (10am)

Art Show & Silent Auction - Sat-Sun, Apr 20-21

Parish Pig Roast, Volunteer Appreciation, & Craig's Farewell - Mon, Apr 22

Final RCIA Retreat - Sat, Apr 27

1st Communion at the 10am Mass - Sun, Apr 28

RCIA - Celebration of Full Initiation at 7pm Mass - Sun, Apr 28

Senior Testimony & Blessings; Peers' Final Skit - Sun, May 5

(c) CoffeeHouse - Fri, May 10 (7pm)

Mother's Day Tea - Sat, May 11

Last Dorm Bus - Sun, May 12

Finals Week Lunches - Mon-Wed, May 13-15 (12:30-2pm)

Parish Town Hall Meeting - Tue, May 14 (6:30pm) [Q&A sheet]

Pancake Breakfast - Sun, May 19 (after the 8 and 10am Masses)

Pentecost Sunday - Sun, May 19

Mission Appeal with Fr. Fred Sserugga at all Masses - Sun, May 26

 

Spring Weekly Events

Sunday

Choir Rehearsal - one hour before the 10 a.m. or 7 p.m. or 9 p.m. Masses
Children's Faith Formation - between the 9 a.m. and 9:50 a.m. Masses
Rediscover Catholicism Book Discussion Groups - 9am, 11am, & 7pm
RCIA - every other Sunday

Monthly Pancake Breakfast - 3rd Sunday of the month -
         after the morning Masses. All you can eat: adults $5; children $2.50

Monday-Friday

Eucharistic Adoration - after noon Mass to 5 p.m.

Monday

Young Adult Volleyball at 7:30 p.m. (C)
Women's Book Club at 7pm (monthly)

Tuesday

Facilities Committee (depending on need)
Parish Pastoral Council - 6:30pm (2nd Tuesday)
Parish Finance Council - 6:30pm (3rd Tuesday)
Centering Prayer - 6:30pm
Rediscover Catholicism Book Discussion Group - 7pm
Candlelight Mass - 8pm (starting Feb 19)

Wednesday

Mass on Campus - 4 pm at Coffman Memorial Union-3rd Floor (til 2/27)
Adult Confirmation - 7pm
Rediscover Catholicism Book Discussion Group - 7pm
Rediscover Catholicism/Bible Study - 9pm (at Middlebrook)

Thursday

Rediscover Catholicism Book Discussion Group - 7pm

Friday

Stations of the Cross - after the 12:10pm Mass during Lent
Anointing of the Sick - 1st Friday of the Month at 12:10pm Mass
Card Night (7-9pm on every odd week of the month)

 

Monthly Service Opportunities

Cooks for Kids at the Ronald McDonald House (1st Sunday of the month)
Loaves and Fishes Suppers (4th Tuesday, every other month)
Kids Against Hunger - once a month on Saturday

 

Fall 2012

Peer Ministry Retreat - Mon, 9/3

Mass on campus - 5:30pm - Wed, 9/5

Eucharistic Adoration & Benediction - 12:40pm, Thu, 9/6

(c) Freshman & Transfer Student Welcome Retreat-5:30pm, Fri-Sep 7

(c) Pancake & Egg Breakfast after 8am & 10am Mass - Sun, Sep 9

(c) Root Beer Floats after 7pm & 9pm Mass - Sun, Sep 9

(c) Welcome Night for Students - 6pm, Mon, Sep 10

125th Anniv: Parish Festival & Cookout - Sat, Sep 15 (12-4pm)

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Sep 16 (5pm)

Ministry Fair (after all Masses) - Sun, Sep 16 & 23

(C) Kids Against Hunger Social Justice Activity - Wed, Sep 19

Registration Sunday at all Masses - Sun, Sep 23

Liturgical Ministry Training - Sun, Sep 23 (11:30am-1:30pm)

Loaves & Fishes - Tue, Sep 25 (5:15pm)

Musical Ministry Dessert Social - Tue, Sep 25 (6:30pm)

Liturgical Ministry Training II - Tue, Sep 25 (7:30pm)

(c) Youth Farm Social Justice Activity - Sat, Sep 29

Rummage Sale - Sep 29-30

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Sep 30 (5:30pm)

Respect Life Dinner - Mon, Oct 1 (6:30pm)

ICC Multi-Faith Week outside Coffman - 10/1-5

Young Adult Conference at St. Bonaventure - Sat, Oct 6

Name Tag Sunday - all Masses - Sun, Oct 7

10 AM Fall BBQ - Sun, Oct 7 (11am)

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Oct 14 (5:30pm)

Kids Against Hunger Social Justice Activity - Tue, Oct 16

(c) Halloween Party - Fri, Oct 26

(c) Fall Hike at Minnehaha Falls - Sat, Oct 27

Fall Parish Clean Up Day - Sat, Oct 27

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Oct 28 (5:30pm)

Marriage Amendment Presentation - Tue, Oct 30 (7:30pm)

All Saints Day Masses - Thu, Nov 1 (12:10pm, 5:30pm, 7:30pm)

All Souls Day Mass - Fri, Nov 2 (12:10pm)

125th Anniv: Mass & Dinner w/ Bishop Picheé - Sat, Nov 3 (5pm)

Sunday Mass 11/3 - there will be no morning Masses
        Fr. DiLuzio preaches all the evening Masses (7pm & 9pm)

125th Anniv: Parish Mission w/ Fr. James DiLuzio, CSP
          - Nov 5-7 (7-8:30pm)

(c) Coffeehouse - Fri, Nov 9 <-- canceled

(c) Student Dinner - Sun, Nov 11

Hunger Awareness Week - Nov 12-16

Kids Against Hunger - Wed, Nov 14
Hunger Banquet - Thu, Nov 15
Turkey Bingo - Fri, Nov 16
(c) Student Fall Retreat - Sat, Nov 17 (9am-9pm)

Pancake Breakfast - after all morning Masses - Sun, Nov 18

Thanksgiving Eve Ecumenical Prayer Service - Wed, Nov 21 (7pm) at Grace Lutheran (with Hope Lutheran, University Baptist, & St. Lawrence Catholic)

Thanksgiving Day Mass - Thu, Nov 22 (9am)

Faith & Spiritual Sharing on Advent - Wed, 7pm (11/28; 12/5,12,19
    Adoration and Praise & Worship - afterwards at 8pm

(c) Coffehouse - Fri, Nov 30 (7pm)

Christmas Bazaar - Sat, Dec 1 (9am-2pm), Sun, Dec 2 (8:30am-2pm)

RCIA (Inquiry begins) - Sun, Dec 2 (11:30am) - Room E

Student Dinner - Sun, Dec 2 (5:30pm)

Lector Workshop - Tue, Dec 4 (7pm)

(c) Student Christmas Party - Thu, Dec 6

Immaculate Conception - Vigil Mass - Fri, Dec 7 (5:30pm)
                                         Mass of the Day - Sat, Dec 8 (9am)

Christmas Caroling - Sat, Dec 8 (11:30am) & Sun, Dec 9 (6pm)

Choir Christmas Concert - Sat, Dec 8 (7pm)

Children's Christmas Program - Sun, Dec 9 (11:30am)

Advent Reconciliation Service - Mon, Dec 10 at 7pm

Faith & Spiritual Sharing on Advent - Wed, 7pm (11/28; 12/5,12,19
    Adoration and Praise & Worship - afterwards at 8pm

Parish Staff & Parish Council Christmas Party - Fri, Dec 14 (7pm)

(c) Finals Week Lunches - Dec 17-19

Faculty, Staff, Grad Student, & Parish Committees Social -
       Thu, Dec 20 (3-6pm)

Christmas Masses- Vigil: Mon 12/24 (6 &10 pm), Day: Tue 12/25 (10am)

Mary, Mother of God Mass - Tue, Jan 1 (10am)

 

Fall Weekly Events

Sunday

Choir Rehearsal - one hour before the 10 a.m. or 7 p.m. or 9 p.m. Masses
Children's Faith Formation - between the 9 a.m. and 9:50 a.m. Masses
Monthly Pancake Breakfast - 3rd Sunday of the month - after the morning Masses. All you can eat: adults $5; children $2.50

Monday

Mass on Campus - 12:10pm at Moos Tower (C)
Young Adult Volleyball at 7:30 p.m. (C)
Women's Book Club at 7pm (monthly)

Tuesday

Eucharistic Adoration - 4-7pm
Facilities Committee (depending on need)
Parish Pastoral Council - 6:30pm (2nd Tuesday)
Parish Finance Council - 6:30pm (3rd Tuesday)
Centering Prayer - 7pm

Wednesday

Mass on Campus - 4 pm at Coffman Memorial Union (3rd Floor) (C)
Bible Study - Faith Sharing Groups - at St. Lawrence & Middlebrook (C)

Thursday

Eucharistic Adoration - after noon Mass to 5:10 p.m.

Friday

Anointing of the Sick - 1st Friday of the Month at 12:10pm Mass
Card Night (7-9pm on every odd week of the month)

 

Monthly Service Opportunities

Cooks for Kids at the Ronald McDonald House (1st Sunday of the month)
Loaves and Fishes Suppers (4th Tuesday, every other month)
Kids Against Hunger - once a month

 

 

Summer 2012

Kids Against Hunger - Jun 5

125th Anniv: International Potluck - Fri, Jun 1

125th Anniv: Parish Retreat - Sat, Jun 9

Father's Day Italian Dinner - Fr, Jun 15

Blessing of Fathers - Sun, Jun 17 (Father's Day)

Eagle Scout Rain Garden Presentation - Sun, Jun 17 - after 8am Mass

Mission Appeal by Fr. Joe Nelson, OFM - Sun, July 8

125th Anniv: 1.25 Mile Neighborhood Walk - Sat, Jul 14 (Canceled)

Feast of the Assumption - Wed, Aug 15

125th Anniv: St. Lawrence-Newman at the State Fair - Sat, Aug 25

(c) Peer Minister Retreat - 8/31-9/2

 

Service Opportunities throughout the summer

Cooks for Kids at the Ronald McDonald House
Loaves and Fishes Suppers


Summer Weekly Events

Sunday

Monthly Pancake Breakfast - 3rd Sunday of the month - after the morning Masses. All you can eat: adults $5; children $2.50
Choir Rehearsal - one hour before the 10 a.m. or 7 p.m. or 9 p.m. Masses
Community of Catholic Youth - meets after the 10am Mass.
Monday

Young Adult Volleyball at 7:30 p.m. (C)
Women's Book Club at 7pm (monthly)

Tuesday

Facilities Committee (depending on need)
Parish Pastoral Council at 6:30pm (2nd Tuesday)
Parish Finance Council at 6:30pm (3rd Tuesday)

Friday

Anointing of the Sick - 1st Friday of the Month at 12:10pm Mass
Card Night (7-9pm on every odd week)

 


Past Calendars

2011-2012